House

One Room Challenge: Week 1

Welcome back to week 1 of the One Room Challenge (which I have now discovered is an actual thing, like a legit thing with a start date and everything–it is only by pure coincidence that I started on the right week). As discussed previously, I’m not doing a whole room but rather a project within my laundry room–adding cabinets. So here we go.

1

Here is the list of things that are attempting to be accomplished in the next 6 weeks:

  • install cabinets
  • sand & prime cabinets
  • paint cabinets
  • install counter (choose a counter)
  • install tile backsplash
  • install shelves

As week one goes, I didn’t do too badly.

I already cut out the baseboards (carefully, so I can reuse them to border the cabinets) so the cabinets were basically ready to be installed.

IMG_2926
my cabinet-installing tools – a level, drill, stud finder, square, screws, etc.

I’ve never installed cabinets before, but I did install the bathroom vanity, and it was similar. Find the studs and make sure the cabinets are level. Luckily, my floor was pretty level so I didn’t have to shim anything. I clamped the cabinets together and attached them.

IMG_2925

I had to go buy a second clamp since I only had one.

After that, I suppose I could have used wood filler but I didn’t have any on hand and it’s all going to be painted anyway, so I caulked things instead, where the cabinets met, etc.

IMG_2928

Then (yes, another then), I took all the doors outside and broke out my brand new orbital sander. I know, I didn’t have to get one, but I plan on redoing the kitchen at some point, so it’ll come in handy.

IMG_2930

I sanded and primed all the doors and drawers. Two coats each, sanding in between each coat. The sander is really a great thing.

IMG_2929

So that’s where we are on week one. Now, according to the ~official~ challenge, I’m supposed to post these updates every Thursday… I’m not sure how far I’ll get in this weekly thing, but week one is done!

Here’s where we are so far:

  • install cabinets
  • sand & prime cabinets
  • paint cabinets
  • install counter (choose a counter)
  • install tile backsplash
  • install shelves

Before we go, let’s take a look at some of my inspirations for this room:

room-reveal-3
Via Twelve on Main
890601101c168194d6e0bd1736b5847b
Via Brost Copenhagen
school-house-pendant-634x951
Via the Sunny Side Up Blog
2 thoughts on “One Room Challenge: Week 1

Leave a Reply

